Durango Planning Commission

Commission Overview

The purpose of the Durango Planning Commission, which consists of lay citizens that represent the public interest of the city, is to make recommendations to the City Council regarding growth, development, and redevelopment in Durango as well as oversee the policies set forth in the Land Use and Development Code.

The commission also conducts public meetings and hearings to review land use and development applications, considers administrative staff recommendations and public comments, and reviews and recommends on the adoption of amendments to the Durango Comprehensive Plan. If you have a question or a comment for this commission, please fill out this form.

At a Glance

Established bySection 6-2-3-2, Land Use and Development Code
Number on BoardFive members and one alternate
Length of TermThree years, staggered
Council LiaisonNone
Staff LiaisonScott Shine, Planning Manager
Regular Meeting TimeFourth Monday of every month at 6:00 pm
Regular Meeting LocationCity Council Chambers

Public Hearings

The commission holds regularly scheduled public hearings as required by the Land Use and Development Code (LUDC) to review and receive public comment. The commission makes its findings based on criteria in the LUDC, and makes recommendations to the City Council to approve, approve with conditions, or deny an application.

Public hearings which involve applications such as rezones, special or conditional uses, subdivision plans and plats, or plans for development in a planned development district, etc., are quasi-judicial in character. Commission recommendations are based on applicable criteria, as set forth in the LUDC, after consideration of evidence and/or testimony presented, including but not limited to the following:

  • Conformance with this code and adopted plans, standards, and policies
  • Planning staff recommendations
  • City department or agency review comments
  • Public comment (testimony) and any relevant evidence presented at a hearing
  • Effects of the proposal on the neighborhood, area, and/or community at large

Current Members

NameAppointedTerm Expires
Jason CrossMarch 2018Jan. 2021
Alma Evans, Alternate
May 2019
Jan. 2022
Geoff Hickcox, Vice Chair
Feb. 2020
Jan. 2023
Joe Lewandowski
Feb. 2020
Jan. 2023
Matt PayneMay 2019Jan. 2022
Susan UleryFeb. 2019Jan. 2022
Scott Shine, Staff LiaisonN/AN/A